Idioms! Huh! What are they good for?

23 10 2015

sorry about the title. Got an 80s song in my head. 

Idioms. Common sayings we pepper our conversations with without even thinking about. Some are similes, some metaphors, some confused (or not) with slang and some just damned odd created in a mad moment in the history of cultural references. 

I knew a teacher some while ago who was frequently saying “that’s the badger!” Rather than that’s the one. 

However, to the point. A quick blog as I pull into the station to share my favourite saying I was reminded by when a lady came out of the tilting toilet cubicle saying there was no paper left. I saw the same thing in a bar many years ago when the lady just said back to her complaining friend, ” yeah, mine neither. I just had to shake the lettuce” 

Need I say more?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

